First Seal wins 2014 Flight Stakes from Winx

October 4th, 2014

First Seal has defeated rival Winx by 3 lengths in the 2014 Group 1 Flight Stakes at Royal Randwick on Epsom Super Saturday.

First Seal wins the 2014 Flight Stakes

First Seal wins the 2014 Flight Stakes. Picture: Steve Hart

First Seal settled in a great position during the early stages of the 1600m Flight Stakes behind the leaders and easily took the lead at the top of the straight. When jockey Blake Shinn asked her for more with 200m to go she kicked clear win to easily from Winx and Thinking Of You.

Jockey Blake Shinn was full of praise for First Seal and was very happy to ride a Group 1 winner for trainer John Thompson.

“It is funny you get really good looking horses and they never live up to what they look, but she has great presence about her, she has an unbelievable motor and she just puts it on to the track,” Shinn said.

“It is great to be given the opportunity by the owners and John Thompson and it is very special to be able to win a Group 1 race for John.

“It has been a while coming and it is great to see him get a top line filly.”

Thompson was also full of praise for First Seal after her maiden Group 1 victory.

“She has showed us from day one that she is very good and the first day Blake galloped her a couple of weeks back he couldn’t even talk, he was just giggling and we knew we had something special,” Thompson said after the race.

“She is definitely the best filly I have had and we have some good wins in store.”

2014 Flight Stakes Results

Finish No. Horse Trainer Jockey Margin Bar. Weight Starting Price
1 2 FIRST SEAL John P Thompson Blake Shinn 4 56kg $2.30F
2 1 WINX Chris Waller Hugh Bowman 3L 7 56kg $2.70
3 6 THINKING OF YOU (NZ) Peter G Moody Joshua Parr 4.3L 2 56kg $6
4 3 PRESS REPORT Lee Curtis Ms Winona Costin (a) 4.5L 6 56kg $51
5 4 ECHO GAL Gai Waterhouse Tye Angland 6.1L 3 56kg $18
6 7 LADY SHARAPOVA Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes James McDonald 6.3L 5 56kg $19
7 9 DYNAMIC ROCK Chris Waller Tim Clark 7.7L 1 56kg $81
5 TWIRL Gai Waterhouse Glyn Schofield 0
8 MUSCOVADO Gai Waterhouse Thomas Huet 0